• A-
  • A
  • A+





There is a very active registered Alumni ‘MAPS’ in the Department. MAPS together with the Department is conducting a number of programmes every year. There is a seven-member executive body for MAPS and every year 3 to 4 Executive meetings are conducted. The General body meeting of MAPS, which is a grand event, is held on the second saturday of December, every year. MAPS together with the Department has been organizing ‘Dr. Sathy Menon Memorial Technical Lecture’ from 2014 onwards. In addition to that, MAPS gives endowments to students. Fanny Pallan Endowments are given to top performing UG students and ‘Sathy Menon Endowments’ are awarded to top scoring PG students.

Illustrious alumni



Course studied /year

Positions holding/held/Recognitions



Deion: S. D. Shibulal 2013 Horasis Global India Business Meeting.jpg

Sri. S. D. Shibulal


MSc Physics (1975-1977)

  • Co-founder of Infosys in 1981.
  • Head of Worldwide Sales and Customer Delivery in Infosys.
  • Head of Infosys Manufacturing and Distribution and Internet Consulting practice
  • On 22 June 2007, Shibulal took over charge  from Kris Gopalakrishnan as the Chief Operating Officer. 
  • Member of the Board of Directors of Infosys.
  • On 30 April 2011 he became CEO and Managing director of Infosys.
  • CEO and MD of Infosys from 1 August 2014.
  • Co-founder of  Axilor Ventures in 2014.
  • 2

    Deion: Founding NIA chief Radha Vinod Raju passes away - The Hindu


    Radha Vinod Raju


    MSc Physics


  • Founding NIA chief
  •  Superintendent of police in Poonch District, Jammu and Kashmir.
  • SP in Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI), Ernakulam.
  • DIG in Jammu and Kashmir.
  • 3


    Deion: Image result for s somanath

    S Somanath

    Pre Degree

  • Director of  VSSC (Present)
  • Director of Liquid propulsion Systems Centre, Valiyamala
  • Deputy Director of Propulsion and Space Ordinance
  • Associate Director (Projects) of VSSC
  • Project Director of GSLV Mk-III launch vehicle



    S Kedarnath Shenoy

    MSc (1979-1981)

  • Director of NPOL (Present), Thrikkakkra
  • Scientist BARC
  • 5

    Dr. D S Pai

    MSc Physics(1987-1989)

  • Scientist F, Head of Climate Research and Services, Meteorological Department, Govt. of India


    Deion: Cochin University of Science and Technology to celebrate ex-VC's 80th b'day  today- The New Indian Express


    Prof. K Babu Joseph

    BSc Physics (1956-1959)

  • Vice Chancellor, CUSAT (1997-2001)
  • Professor at CUSAT (1969-1997)
  • Lecturer at UC College, Aluva (1967-1969)
  • 7

    Deion: Faculty - International School of Photonics


    Prof. C. P. Girija Vallabhan

    BSc Physics

  • Founder director of International School of Photonics at CUSAT, 1995
  • Emeritus Professor at International School of Photonics (Currently)
  • Director of Uiversity Science Instrumentation Centre at CUSAT (1986)
  • Dean of Faculty of Technology, CUSAT (2002-2007)
  • Director of CELOS at CUSAT (2002-2008)


    Deion: https://www.amrita.edu/sites/default/files/styles/260x160/adaptive-image/public/faculty_images/nandakumaran-hod-physics.jpg?itok=9T27utdS


    Prof. V M Nandakumaran

    B.Sc. Physics (1969)

  • Principal, Amrita School of Arts and Science, Amritapuri Campus.
  • Professor, IISER, Thiruvananthapuram
  • Director, International School of Photonics at CUSAT
  • Lecturer, Dept. of Physics, University of Calicut
  • 9

    Dr. M A Ittiyachan


  • Professor (Rtd), School of Pure and Appied Sciences, M G University
  • V.C. in charge (MG University)
  • 10

    Deion: Vasudevan Pillai's profile photo, May be an image of 1 person and smiling Dr. Vasudevan Pillai

    BSc and MSc Physics (1978-1983)

  • Principal (Present), Directorate of Minority Welfare
  • State Resourse Person for Haritha Kerala Mission
  • 11

    Dr. M R Santha Devi


    B.Sc. Physics (1969)


  • Scientist F (Retired), NPOL (DRDO lab), Kochi


    Deion: Kerala: Daily wage earner's son bags 432nd rank in UPSC exam | India  News,The Indian Express


    Satheesh V Menon IRS


    MSc physics (2009-2011)

  • Deputy Director of Income Tax, Central Board Direct Tax, New Delhi
  • Assistant Commissioner of Income Tax, Indian Revenue Services



  • 13


    Dr. K V Vrinda Devi


    BSc and MSc in Physics (1981-1986)

  • Scientific Officer G, Radio metallurgy division, BARC, Mumbai
  • Quality Control Section, Advanced Fuel Fabrication Centre (1988)
  • 14


    Susan Antony


    MSc Physics (2000-2002)

  • Assistant Director, Forensic Science Laboratory, Kerala Police Department.
  • 15